The Christian J. Sanborn Teammate Award

The Christian J. Sanborn Teammate Award scholarship has been presented annually since 2006 to a graduating senior hockey player at Madison West High School.

Teammate Awards are not reserved for the best players or the players with the best grades or highest SAT scores; but rather are given to the student-athlete who best exemplifies what it means to be a teammate, both on and off the playing field

The scholarship may be used for any post high-school education.

Recipients are awarded in late May at the Madison West Honors Convocation at Madison West High School.


2018 - Adam Buencamino

2018 – Adam Buencamino

Adam played goalie for the West Regents for three years. This past year he played over 900 minutes, had a save percentage of 91.4%, and recorded 3 shutouts.  He was named First Team All City Goaltender, Second Team All Region Goaltender and First…
2017 - Kara Epping

2017 – Kara Epping

Kara Epping played right wing for the Madison Metro Lynx girls hockey team and is the first female recipient of the Chris Sanborn Teammate Scholarship. In her junior year the Lynx won the conference championship and she was a letter winner. Kara is also…
2016 - Casey Olson

2016 – Casey Olson

Casey played forward for the West Regents for four years. He was also on the cross country team for four years and ran track. He earned a 3.45 GPA while volunteering for Children With Disabilities and The Second Harvest Foodbank. In addition, he…
2015 - Henry Cutting

2015 – Henry Cutting

Henry played goalie for Madison West Regents all four years of high school. He was also president of DECA and participated in state and national competitions. As a youth, he was a rink rat with the Westmorland Saints and then played with the Polar Caps….
2014 - Kevin Joswiak

2014 – Kevin Joswiak

Kevin played goalie for the West Regents for three years.  He also played volleyball at West and was named second-team all conference his senior year, as well as lacrosse for the West/Edgewood co-op club team.  He will be attending Beloit College where h…
2013 - Lake Larson

2013 – Lake Larson

Lake is a freshman business student at Indiana University with an interest in finance and consulting.  He has been active in his housing unit governing council, vice president of the McNutt Hutton Honors Council Association and pledge class treasurer…
2012 - Ross Perkel

2012 – Ross Perkel

Ross is completing his second year at NYU studying marketing and finance.  Last summer he taught art at Camp Shalom.  At NYU he participates in the Purple Haze Ultimate team, the Zeta Psi Fraternity, NYU Model UN, the Economics Club and The…
2011 - Ethan Beatty

2011 – Ethan Beatty

Ethan Beatty is a junior at the University of Minnesota Carlson School of Management double majoring in Supply Chain Operations and Finance. He is senior supervisor of intramural soccer, a member of Strictly Discs and president of the Undergraduate Consulting…
2010 - Zachary Wood-Doughty

2010 – Zachary Wood-Doughty

Zach graduated from Carlton College in 2014 with a BA in mathematics and computer science and a Latin American studies concentration. His college experiences included serving as software development intern at Epic and PerBlue, working as software development…
2009 - Blair Ekleberry

2009 – Blair Ekleberry

Blair completed his degree in architecture from Cal-Poly – San Luis Obispo in 2014. He spent the fourth year of his 5-year program in Paris. He was able to intern for a semester at the firm of Moreau Kusunoki, were he worked on two winning competition…
2008 - Charlie Kolner

2008 – Charlie Kolner

Charlie graduated from the University of St. Thomas in 2012 with a BS in International Economics. He is currently an analytics coordinator at Periscope in Minneapolis. Periscope is an independent creative agency with additional offices in Hong Kong,…
2007 - Jacob Esch

2007 – Jacob Esch

Jake graduated from Lawrence University in 2011 with a BA in economics and completed a second major the next year in environmental studies. While at Lawrence University he served as a lab assistant, research assistant and teaching and learning tutor in…
2006 - Tyler Bohman

2006 – Tyler Bohman

After completing his undergraduate degrees in Sports Marketing & Management, Business and Spanish at Indiana University in 2010, Tyler became Director of Operations for the Wisconsin Sports Development Corporation, the non-profit organization that…